Departmental Advisors


The following faculty members and staff are responsible for advising in each of the departments.

Elementary Education:

Multiple Subject Credential Program

Burk Hall 179
415-338-1562
elemed@sfsu.edu

 

BEST Program Coordinator, Elementary Intern Program Advisor/Coordinator

Dr. Josephine Arce
Burk Hall 183
415-338-7636
jarce@sfsu.edu

 

Early Childhood MA Program Coordinators

Dr. Daniel Meier
Burk Hall 187
415-338-3417
dmeier@sfsu.edu

 

Dr. Mina Kim
Burk Hall 191
415-405-0906
minakim@sfsu.edu

Elementary Education MA Program Coordinator

Dr. Stephanie Sisk-Hilton
Burk Hall 189
415-338-3442
stephsh@sfsu.edu

 

Mathematics Program M.A. Coordinator

Dr. Maria Zavala
Burk Hall 191
415-405-0465
mza@sfsu.edu

 

Reading and Literacy M.A., Reading Specialist Credential, and Reading Certificate Programs Coordinators

Dr. Ali Borjian
Burk Hall 199
415-338-1838
borjian@sfsu.edu

Dr. Marguerite Conrad
Burk Hall 197
415-338-1309
mconrad4@sfsu.edu

 

Early Childhood Education Undergraduate Coordinator

Dr. Mina Kim
Burk Hall 191
415-405-0906
minakim@sfsu.edu


Equity, Leadership Studies, and Instructional Technologies:

Adult Education

Dr. Doris Flowers
Burk Hall 267
415-338-2614
dflowers@sfsu.edu
 

For students with last names beginning with letters A-M

 

Dr. Ming-yeh Lee
Burk Hall 391
415-338-1081
mylee@sfsu.edu

For students with last names beginning with letters N-Z
 

Administrative Services

Dr. Davide Celoria
Burk Hall 246
415-405-3659
dceloria@sfsu.edu

 

Equity and Social Justice

Dr. Doris Flowers
Burk Hall 267
415-338-2614
dflowers@sfsu.edu

For students with last names beginning with letters A-M
 

Dr. Ming-yeh Lee
Burk Hall 391
415-338-1081
mylee@sfsu.edu

For students with last names beginning with letters N-Z
 

Instructional Technologies

Dr. Patricia Donohue
Burk Hall 166
415-338-7833
pdonohue@sfsu.edu

 

Dr. Zahira Merchant
Burk Hall 163
415-338-6384
zahiram@sfsu.edu

 

Special Interest

Dr. Deborah Curtis
Burk Hall 305
415-338-1076
curtis@sfsu.edu

For students with last names beginning with letters A-M

Dr. Helen Hyun
Burk Hall 518
415-338-6449
hhh@sfsu.edu

For students with last names beginning with letters N-Z
 

Step to College Program

Michael Rodriguez
Burk Hall 322
415-338-2027
creole67@sfsu.edu

 

Transfer Articulation Bridge Program

Paul Mendez
BH 220
415-338-2899
huichol@sfsu.edu


Secondary Education:

Secondary Education Intern Program Advisor/Coordinator

Nathan Avani
Burk Hall 57
415-338-6442
natalio@sfsu.edu

 

Science Advising

Larry Horvath
Burk Hall 55
415-338-2693
lhorvath@sfsu.edu

 

M.A. in Math Education and General Math Advising

Judith Kysh
Burk Hall 59
415-338-2121
jkysh@sfsu.edu

 

M.A. in Secondary Education Advising

Maika Watanabe
Burk Hall 49
415-338-1622
watanabe@sfsu.edu

 

Single Subject Credential General Advising

Maika Watanabe
Burk Hall 49
415-338-1622
watanabe@sfsu.edu

Gilda Bloom
Burk Hall 253
415 -338-7060
gmbloom@sfsu.edu

Jamal Cooks
Burk Hall 51
415-338-2065
jamalc@sfsu.edu

 

Yanan Fan
Burk Hall 47
415-338-1972
yanan@sfsu.edu


Special Education & Communicative Disorders:

Communicative Disorders

Laura Epstein
Burk Hall 102
(415) 338-1058
lepstein@sfsu.edu

Betty Yu
Burk Hall 105
(415) 338-3429
bettyyu@sfsu.edu

 

Patti Solomon-Rice
Burk Hall 101
415) 338-7652
psolomon@sfsu.edu
 

Early Childhood Special Education

Amber Friesen
Burk Hall 201
(415) 338-7654
afriesen@sfsu.edu

 

Tsai-hsing (Summer) Hsia
Burk Hall 148
(415) 338-2502
summerh@sfsu.edu

 

Mild/Moderate Disabilities

Susan Courey
Burk Hall 205
(415) 338-1890
scourey@sfsu.edu
 

Pam LePage
Burk Hall 202
415) 338-3428
plepage@sfsu.edu
 

Philip Prinz
Burk Hall 147
(415) 338-7655
pm@sfsu.edu

 

Moderate/Severe Disabilities

Pamela Hunt

History Social-Science Building 106
(415) 338-7848
hunt@sfsu.edu


Orientation & Mobility

Sandra Rosen

Burk Hall 150
(415) 338-1245
srosen@sfsu.edu


Physical Health Impairments

Gloria Soto

Burk Hall 271
(415) 338-1757
gsoto@sfsu.edu

 

Visual Impairments

Amanda Lueck

Burk Hall 145
(415) 338-1080
amandal@sfsu.edu

 

Joint Doctoral Program

Marci Hanson

Burk Hall 275
(415) 338-6353

mjhanson@sfsu.edu

 

Minor in Special Education

Sandra Rosen

Burk Hall 150
(415) 338-1245
srosen@sfsu.edu