SF State Reclassified as Doctoral Institution

SF State Reclassified as Doctoral Institution

Three CSU campuses, long classified as large master’s universities, are considered doctoral institutions by the leading national classification of U.S. colleges and universities.

Fresno State, CSU Fullerton and San Francisco State were reclassified as a doctoral university in the 2015 edition of the Carnegie Classification of Institutions of Higher Education rankings system, which identifies American institutions of higher education for comparisons.

This change occurs when a university graduates more than 20 doctoral degrees per year, a figure that the Fresno, San Francisco and Fullerton campuses have exceeded in recent years. The three join San Diego State, which was previously the only CSU campus to be categorized as a doctoral university...

Read the full article

San Francsico State News Article